NATaT Urges Congress to Stop Bigger Trucks

Today, NATaT joined over 1,000 local government leaders, including mayors, county engineers and public works directors, in sending a letter to Congress opposing any increases in truck size or weight, including longer double-trailer trucks and heavier single-trailer trucks. The letter, entitled “Bigger Trucks: Bad for America’s Local Communities,” can be found here. The letter argues that,[…]

NATaT Joins Partners in Advocating for Municipal Bonds with Congress

NATaT joined the other members of the Public Finance Network this week in publishing an updated primer on municipal bonds for Congressional staff.  Despite municipal bonds having been preserved in tax reform, concern remains that Congressional tax-writers may still use them to pay for other priorities.  As a result, NATaT and its partners never lose[…]

NATaT Board Elects New Leadership and Says Goodbye and Thank you to a Member

The NATaT Board of Directors elected Bryan Smith (Exec. Director, Township Officials of Illiniois) as President, Mike Koles (Executive Director, Wisconsin Towns Association) as Vice President, and Gerry Geist (Exec. Director, Association of Towns of the State of New York) as Secretary/Treasurer.  It also thanked board members Dave Sanko (Exec. Director, Pennsylvania State Association of[…]

FCC Adopts 5G Small Cell Deployment Order

The Federal Communications Commission (FCC) adopted the Wireless Infrastructure Order at its September 26th Open Meeting. The Third Report and Order and Declaratory Ruling establishes shot clocks for state and local approvals for the deployment of small wireless facilities, and imposes new state and local streamlining requirements on wireless infrastructure deployment. The Commission unanimously adopted[…]

U.S. Senator Tammy Baldwin Introduces Rural Water Bill

U.S. Senator Tammy Baldwin Introduces Legislation to Improve Rural Water Infrastructure in Wisconsin. U.S. Senator Tammy Baldwin today introduced legislation to fund critical water infrastructure projects in rural Wisconsin communities. The Rural Water Infrastructure Improvements Act would reauthorize and expand the U.S. Department of Agriculture’s (USDA) grant and loan program that provides funding to states,[…]