NATaT Supported Letter on Tax Credits for Paid Leave Sent to Congressional Leadership

Today, NATaT joined 73 Members of Congress and numerous organizations in urging Congress for parity between private and public employees when it comes to emergency paid leave under recent COVID-19 relief legislation.  Under the legislation, public employers, including state and local governments, are explicitly prohibited from using a payroll tax credit available to private employers to offset the costs of new emergency paid leave requirements.

Please find a copy of the letter here.

Signatories: TJ Cox, John Katko, Bradley S. Schneider, Diana DeGette, Eleanor Holmes Norton, Brian Fitzpatrick, Eric Swalwell, Harley Rouda, Grace F. Napolitano, Earl Blumenauer, Julia Brownley, Doris O. Matsui, Thomas R. Suozzi, Dwight Evans, Jahana Hayes, Ted W. Lieu, Adam Smith, Tony Cárdenas, Barbara Lee, Salud O. Carbajal, Chris Pappas, Col. Paul Cook (Ret.), Rosa L. DeLauro, Michael F.Q. San Nicolas, Linda T. Sanchez, Derek Kilmer, Ron Kind, Josh Gottheimer, Brian Higgins, John Garamendi, John B. Larson, Jimmy Panetta, Ami Bera, M.D., Deb Haaland, Josh Harder, Jennifer Wexton, Sean Patrick Maloney, Ro Khanna, Jason Crow, Ann McLane Kuster, Mark Pocan, Katherine M. Clark, Ted S. Yoho, D.V.M., Gerald E. Connolly, Lois Frankel, Tom O’Halleran, Mikie Sherrill, Suzan K. DelBene, Danny K. Davis, Stephen F. Lynch, Jim Costa, Suzanne Bonamici, Peter A. DeFazio, Charlie Crist, Jared Huffman, Greg Stanton, Juan Vargas, Anna G. Eshoo, Judy Chu, Elissa Slotkin, Peter Welch, Ben Ray Luján, Zoe Lofgren, Ilhan Omar, Xochitl Torres Small, Betty McCollum, Karen Bass, Stephanie Murphy, Mike Doyle, Steve King, David N. Cicilline, Debbie Dingell, Jackie Speier.

Endorsing Organizations: National League of Cities, American Society of Civil Engineers, National Association of Counties, Association of Public and Land-grant Universities, International City/County Management Association, National Conference of State Legislatures, California Association of Sanitation Agencies, Government Finance Officers Association, National School Boards Association, National Association of Clean Water Agencies, National Water Resources Association, United States Conference of Mayors, National Recreation and Parks Association, National Association of Towns and Townships, California Special Districts Association, Association of Metropolitan Water Agencies, California State Association of Counties, National Association of College and University Business Officers, State Higher Education Executive Officers Association, American Council on Education, Association of American Universities, American Association of State Colleges and Universities, Water Environment Federation, Family Farm Alliance.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *