National Association of Towns & Townships

A Strong Voice For America's Smaller Communities

How We Got Started

The National Association of Towns and Townships (NATaT) was formed more than 40 years ago to provide America’s smaller communities, towns and townships, and other suburban and rural localities a strong voice in Washington, DC. Eighty-five percent serve communities with less than 10,000 people and nearly half have fewer than 1,000 residents. Nearly one-quarter of all Americans live in rural areas, approximately the same percentage as live in central cities.

Our Purpose Today

NATaT’s purpose today, as it was then, is to champion fair-share federal funding decisions and to promote legislative and regulatory policies designed to strengthen grassroots local government. Since 1976, NATaT’s staff and members have strived to educate lawmakers and other federal officials about the unique nature of small community government operations as well as the need for policies that meet the special needs of suburban and non-metro communities.

Our Agenda

As the voice for nearly 10,000 towns and townships across America, NATaT has developed a proactive federal agenda to ensure that the needs and interests of small communities are reflected in all major federal statutory, regulatory, funding, and policy decisions made in Washington. The NATaT Board of Directors identified the topics listed under Legislative Priorities. NATaT is working in collaboration with the other local government associations, the Administration, and Congress to achieve these goals.

The Latest News & Publications

Read This Week's Latest Legislative Report

Meet NATaT's Board of Directors

Executive Director, Michigan Township Association

Executive Director, Michigan Townships Association

Mr. Neil Sheridan

NATaT President

Executive Director, Ohio Township Association

Mrs. Heidi Fought

NATaT Vice President

Executive Director, Pennsylvania State Association of Township Supervisors

Mr. David Sanko

NATaT Secretary/Treasurer

Executive Director, Township Officials of Illinois

Mr. Jerry Crabtree

NATaT Board Member

Executive Director, Association of Towns of the State of New York

Mr. Gerry Geist

NATaT Board Member

Executive Director, Wisconson Towns Association

Mr. Mike Koles

NATaT Board Member

Executive Director, Minnesota Association of Townships

Mr. Jeff Krueger

NATaT Board Member

Board Representative, Minnesota Association of Townships

Mr. Vance Bachmann

NATaT Board Representative

Executive Secretary and Director of Governmental Affairs, North Dakota Township Officers Association

Mr. Larry Syverson

NATaT Board Member

Executive Director, South Dakota Association of Towns and Townships

Ms. Terry Sletten

NATaT Board Member

Meet Our Staff

Jennifer Imo

Federal Director

David Hoover

Legislative & Policy Manager

Tina Dykstra

Administrative Assistant

Lynna Doan